Marry You

You’re totally going to get married one day.

Oh yuck, no way. Marriage is stupid.

Agreed, but why do you say that?

Marriage is a weird concept. It’s the deepest oath, the most meaningful promise made by the world’s most fickle-minded race – humans.

It is also one of the most beautiful things humans created.  Others include pizza and you, so that’s saying a lot.

That was disgustingly cheesy. You’re gonna end up married to a boring person who waits for you to come home and cooks you food.

You’re gonna end up alone in a room full of cats and bed that has seen a hundred one night stands.

Maybe, but at least I’ll have fun.

I’ll get good food.

What if she sucks at cooking?

Can’t be worse than you now, can she?

That’s just plain rude. Thank God I’ll never marry you.

I should be offended by that sentiment because we’re dating, but I’m really not.

This is why I stick around with you.

If you never get married, you’re gonna miss out on all the amazing wedding food you know.

I’ll attend weddings. I’ll even set people up. In fact, I could set up your proposal. God knows you’ll never do anything yourself anyway.

Good idea. So if I were to ask my hypothetical girlfriend to marry me, how should I do it?

Assuming she’s gonna be a  substantial chick and not a superficial Barbie, do something super simple and cute. No grand gesture of love or huge memorized speech, too cliched. Just something that means something to the both of you.

Oo, I have an idea!

For a proposal? Tell me and I’ll approve it.

I’ll walk you through it. I’ll be there in 20.

Ahahahaha don’t be late.


He was there in 22 minutes. She half forgot he was coming. It didn’t matter, it’s not like she was going to get ready for him anyway. He came in with that stupid grin that always made her smile like an idiot.

“Please let this idea be good.”
“Actually half way here I realized it kinda sucked. I’ll improvise and give you a better idea in a few years time.”
“Expected. Then why are you here?”
“Can’t a guy just want to see his girl?”

She watched as he pushed the sofas away and made space. He made his way over to her elaborate speaker system, connected his phone, and played the playlist labelled “her <3”. She had enough time to realize they were going to dance before the music started.
The first song started playing. It was ‘Can I have this dance?’ from High School Musical 2. She rolled her eyes as he took her hand.

“It’s like catching lightning, the chances of finding someone like you.
It’s one in a million, the chances of feeling the way we do.”

They danced around the hall, acting like Troy and Gabriella from the movie. The song changed quickly enough to a more upbeat song that did not require them to ball dance. He pulled away from her and starting jamming out to the tune. She stood there with her hands on her hips.

“You’re an idiot, you know.”
“I’m your idiot.”
“Yuck, don’t ever say that again.”

Soon enough they were both dancing like little kids. A moonwalk here, a twirl there, they didn’t care what they were doing. His heart pounded in his ears as the songs played on . Number 6, 7, 8, 9…. and then 10.

‘Marry You’ by Bruno Mars started playing. It was one of her all time favourites and he knew it. He lip synced to it, taking something out of his pocket.

“It’s a beautiful night, we’re looking for something dumb to do.”

He kneeled down, holding a little Tiffany box in his hand and mouthing along to the song. She stopped dancing and stared at him, her eyes blown wide open.

He opened the box.

“Hey baby, I think I wanna marry you.”

She stared at him for a few more seconds as it hit her that he’s proposing. The song kept playing in the background while his heart moved into his throat.

“If this is your grand proposal idea. I totally approve. No girl can say no to it.”

He was still lip syncing to the song.

“Don’t say no no no no no. Just say yeah yeah yeah yeah yeah.”

Her eyes locked with his and she grinned.

“I think I wanna marry you too, dumbass.”

“And we’ll go go go go go if you’re ready like I’m ready.
It’s a beautiful night, we’re looking for something dumb to do.
Hey baby, I think I wanna marry you.”


Existing credit to Ebe for forcing me to write this, giving me the structural idea AND coming up with the cutest proposal ever. Thanks love ❤

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Mad Shopper says:

    Love this! If we could marry Pizza what an amzing thing. They will never break our hearts only love =)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Zaiyd says:

    “It is also one of the most beautiful things humans created. Others include pizza..”

    I guess I’m gonna marry a Pizza 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rev says:

      I guess we all are

      Like

  3. thegirlwithnoname says:

    this is such a beautifully written story and i love it so much and whoever those characters are i shiP THEM SO MUCH because this is just too cute.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Rev says:

      Hahaha thank you so much! And I know right if only guys like this actually existed… But that’s apparently too much to ask for lol

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ebe says:

        Oml, if only. Ha

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Rev says:

        Shut up you annoyance it’s true

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

