MASK

You don’t see what I see

You see the pretty girl with long hair and a predisposition to be nice to everyone
I see a broken face with dark thoughts and a history of sadness

You see a jock with a million girls and a tendency to break hearts
I see a boy with a dysfunctional family and a fake facade

You see the hot popular cheerleader with perfect skin and a superiority complex
I see a flawed girl with an imperfect childhood and a thousand insecurities

You see the sweet teacher who calls every student her child
I see the woman who’s had 2 miscarriages and craves nothing more than a child

You see the boy who aces every test and is annoyingly good at everything
I see the child who tries and fails to do his parents proud every time

You don’t see what I see

You see what they show you
I see what they try so hard to hide

You don’t see what I see

Because you see the mask
And I see what lies inside

17 Comments Add yours

    1. Rev says:

      Thank you:)

      Like

  1. Ivy says:

    That was freakin’ beautiful and so so true. (I think the fifth one might be me except I only ace things sometimes 😅)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Esther says:

    I believe we have to get close to them on some particular level…to begin to see the real person they shield from the world.
    A beautiful post.
    Hi… What’s your name?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rev says:

      Thank you 🙂
      And hi… I call myself Rev here
      I was just reading your poem but I didn’t have time to comment on it. I’m on my way to do that now haha

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Esther says:

        Okay do that😊

        And Rev you’re welcome.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Esther says:

        And… If you don’t mind my asking, how old are you? You could give an age range of you’re more comfortable with that.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Rev says:

        Oh I don’t mind at all. I’m 16 and will turn 17 this year

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Esther says:

        Ohhkayyy… Are you on Twitter?

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Rev says:

        Nope I havent found that important enough yet

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Lizzy Lizard says:

    This is so true; you never know what’s happened to a person if they don’t tell you. Matched with that picture, this really moved me. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rev says:

      Wow I’m so glad it made an impact with people 🙂

      Like

  4. shuvigautam says:

    That was SO Beautiful

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Rev says:

      Thank you I’m glad you liked it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

