SOULMATES

dfgggg

I had roses ready… The yard was covered in fairy lights and there was cake. It was the cheesiest thing in the world. You said you hated cheesy, but I knew that deep inside, you loved it. I knew this was special. It was the first time you’d been with someone for so long. But you didn’t turn up.

I waited. For a long time I waited. I figured you were stuck at the hospital, saving a life. Well, I was half right… you were at the hospital, but instead of doing your usual job of saving someone’s life, you were fighting for your life. And I was the last to know.

The last to be informed.

The last to break down

But once I got there, once you were awake for however short time, I didn’t leave your side. I was there when you reassigned your surgeries to other surgeons. I was there when your family came to visit. I was there when you couldn’t fall asleep. I was there when the doctor told you were only temporarily awake. I was there when you cried.  I stayed there with you, sleeping on the rickety cot of the room, eating hospital food.

I never left your side.

Not once all day.

Until I did.

I left for barely half an hour, just to settle some work.
But I shouldn’t have, because that’s when your heart stopped beating and your pulse disappeared. That’s when the crash team reached your room with paddles. That’s when you gave your last breath away. That’s when you gave up.

That’s when you stopped living, and that’s when I died.

“They say we’re soulmates because our zodiacs match” you said to me before I left.

“Do you believe it?” I scrunched up my face and looked at you “hey, I love you and all but soulmates are a step too far. Soulmates don’t exist.”

“Oh, but I think they do” you whispered.

I kissed you soft and short, like we’d do it the rest of our lives, and then I left the room.

That was a terrible decision. I shouldn’t have. I’m sorry.

They said that we were soulmates and now, I finally believe them. Not because our zodiacs match but because your heart stopped when I left. And when you stopped living, so did I.

I love you. I miss you. My soulmate is gone, and the world has lost its colour.

They said that we were soulmates, and for once, they’re right.

28 Comments Add yours

  1. Fab Writings says:

    you make a way to reader’s heart. you write really beautiful… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed it!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. unsaidwords says:

    Beautifully written . Good job

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow! Brilliant! I do believe as soulmates had already been engraved deeply in us no matter what has bring them they will really finding each other.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. hey great post the word soulmate has its own charm and i would like if you see my blog https://flyingcolours603.wordpress.com/ you will like it best wishes 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks and I’ll definitely check it out 🙂 thank you for linking it!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. thanks for checking it out 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  5. thegirlthatdreamsawake says:

    This is so beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Azura Skies says:

    Ahhhhh. How are you so amazing with words!? Seriously. This was a masterpiece. So beautiful xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 🙂 I really like this one too!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Beautiful and touching. 👍🏻

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Srijan says:

    I like some of your posts.
    You’re great at your work. :))

    Liked by 2 people

  9. mumofone says:

    I went to a funeral today so this really struck a cord with me. So well written. You really know how to reach right into peoples hearts. Amazing. I’m all choked up 😢

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh I’m so sorry for your loss and hope that person rests in piece.
      And thank you so much for the kind words 🙂 it means more to me than you could ever imagine!

      Like

  10. Wow! Beautifully written. This left me awstruck. This is exactly what I mentioned in one of my answers. You know, about how some writings inspire me and make me wonder, “Why can’t I write like them?”. I got all emotional. Way to go, hon. Good luck. 😀

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Aw thank you so much 🙂 it means a lot haha

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Elm says:

    That broke my heart and it was beautiful. You have a way with words and it’s amazing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! This was actually the first thing I wrote and sent to my friends this year and they immediately insisted I start a blog

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Elm says:

        And they were right to! 🙂

        Like

  12. This is so beautful! I nearly teared up! So glad I checked out your blog 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  13. awklifeblog says:

    This is beautifully written yet so tragic! I love your ideas, I’m worried I’ll start tearing up if I read this again. 😀 That’s not a bad thing though, you put so much emotion in your writing and I think that’s absolutely magnificent! Keep writing xx

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much for not thinking I’m crazy for writing sad stuff! I really appreciate it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. awklifeblog says:

        why’d u be crazy? Not everything is happy in life and you clearly knew how to portray that in a beautiful story 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Thank you so much for the kind words and understanding ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  14. Lily says:

    So great! And so sad. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. uma197 says:

      yes, agree, there is a greatness in the sadness. big hugs

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

